3.99 – Ela Orleans

Phew! I’m finally caught up with all of my daily posts from the past two weeks. Please go back and take a look at them all if you have the time and I promise to be less crap about updating the blog in the meantime. It is, after all, meant to be a “one song per day” kind of deal – and although I’m managing to discover those tunes without any problems, I’m less good at the posting about them part!

So with that being said, here’s today’s song and it’s probably the weirdest piece of music I’ve discovered this year. This is Glasgow-based Polish composer/musician Ela Orleans and a track from her exquisitely bizarre concept album Circles of Upper and Lower Hell. 

Kind of an evil soundscape inspired by demonic visions and featuring lyrics taken from Arthur Limbaud and Dante’s Divine Comedy, it’s a twisted, mesmerising piece of musicianship. You kind of have to listen to the whole thing to get a proper feel for its meandering malevolence, but this track Circle One is probably one of the more accessible parts.

Once again, it’s not my usual go-to musical genre, but there’s something captivating about this whole album and I can’t quite put my finger on what it is. It’s not even something that I’d consciously choose to go back to in order to give it a solid re-listen or critical analysis. But the body of work has stuck with me longer than many other albums – both orchestral and otherwise – have. And that’s the mark of true craftsmanship.

All it needs now is for some inspiring, fucked up impresario to add visuals onto this, and it could possibly be the most disturbing piece of work ever.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

