3.95 – Fickle Friends

I’m not usually a big fan of chart-friendly pop rock sounds that are laced with over-produced effects and cynical licks – but every now and again I do find an exception to the rule. Now, it’s mostly on those occasions when I come across a song that is so infuriatingly catchy that I can’t help but loving it despite my reservations (see Foster The People’s Pumped Up Kicks and Echosmith’s Cool Kids). But other times, there’s just something about a song that I can’t put my finger on.

This is firmly in the latter camp. It’s Swim by Brighton indie pop rockers Fickle Friends and…..yeah, it’s just got something about it. From the breezy, cheery vocals through to the 80s synth-laced guitar work and the backdrop effects it’s just really pleasant and fun to listen to. Not my usual cup of tea, I’ll admit, but I’m very happy to add it to the list.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

