3.11 – Jasmine Kennedy

Regular readers – or those who have the (mis)fortune of knowing me – will be well aware of my fondness for a good solo singer-songwriter. While I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite genre, it’s certainly one that tends to feature prominently when I’m in my most introspective moods.

Perhaps its the unrealised early twenty-something dream of forging a musical path of my own, or the memories of sitting alone and pouring over lyrics before trying to work them into a vaguely serviceable tune, but I generally adore listening to well-crafted pieces of acoustic melancholia and retrospection.

So here’s my first for 2017: the wonderful Jasmine Kennedy. An English solo songstress with two (I think) albums under her belt, and who I have no recollection of stumbling across whatsoever. Seriously, I don’t. There was just a song nestled among the many others on my “to be uploaded” playlist in Spotify which I listened to yesterday and which I was blown away by. Presumably not for the first time – otherwise I wouldn’t have put it there in the first place.

The song is called Percy Anderson and it’s beautiful – a lovelorn lament to college romance with one of the most sumptuous, lilting melodies I’ve heard for a long while. Probably since Fabian Holland’s A Day Like Tomorrow (which I still firmly believe is one of the best albums of the last couple of years).

I’m such a sucker for anything with finger-picked guitar and piano in it, and this is definitely one of the better examples I’ve come across. And combined with the Tracy Chapman-esque vocals…. well, take a listen and see for yourself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

