72 – Fear of Men

I mentioned yesterday that I’d recently given NPR’s Austin 100 a listen and the good news is that it’s inspired me a little bit. I love finding a whole bunch of new bands and tunes at once, and I’m going to be posting my favourites from that list over the coming days.

This means there’ll be a bit of a quality boost to the music on display this month, as I’ll be highlighting (in my opinion) the best of the best – i.e., the tunes that I’ve been playing pretty regularly since discovering them. So let’s get down to business.

First up is Fear of Men, a great wee Brighton trio whose dreamy indie pop has been likened to everything from Camera Obscura to Young Marble Giants. I personally think it’s actually a little more late 80s and 90s than that, with slight Smiths echoes mixed with a distinct girl-fronted 90s indie-fringe sound that I can’t quite pinpoint. It’s prodding a part of my musical psyche that’s been dormant for a while, and that’s partly the reason that I think this track in particular – Luna – is so good.

Check out the rest of their debut album Loom if you get the chance. There’s some amazing mysterious, drowned-romantical stuff on there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

