31 – The Joy Formidable

Phew, what a month. This has proven slightly more difficult than first time round – possibly because I’m trying harder to find new, interesting acts or running out of places to look for them – but I’m hopeful I can continue for the rest of the year.

On the plus side, I am still managing to stumble across stuff that genuinely catches my attention straight away and leaves me intruigued rather than merely entertained. For example, today’s tune The Last Thing On My Mind by North Wales post-punk rockers The Joy Formidable.

They’ve been going since 2007, but I only came across them via a chance run-through Spotify’s New music Friday playlist (which I used to go through religiously each week, but have fallen off the wagon in recent months). I’m glad I did this week though, because this tune is bloody excellent. Slick guitars, lots of drums and a heap of attitude – just my cup of tea. Weird video too, which is always a bonus.

I think some extensive exploration is in order. See you in a bit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

