Day 359 – Cory Branan

As you may have guessed by now, I’m a big fan of solo singer-songwriters. I mean, I could happily spend an entire day with Ryan Adams, Damien Rice, Bright Eyes et al blasting out of my stereo and be very content indeed.

So I’m always on the lookout for new artists to add to the mix – and here’s one for today’s post. Admittedly it’s a song that I’ve had in the pending pile for a good few months but I’ve only just revisited it in the past few days and, wow, I’d forgotten how good it was.

This is Mississippi songsmith Cory Branan and his stuff is excellent. From his most recent album – 2014’s No Hit Wonder – back to 2002’s debut The Hell You Say, his back catalogue is an intricate, meandering journey of beautiful tunes and introspective lyrical musings. I’d heartily recommend listening to all of his stuff, but pay particular notice to 2012’s MUTT, which is, in my opinion, one of his best.

This track Hold Me Down is from that album, so if you like it, go check out the rest of his stuff. I’m a big fan.

Unfortunately I can only find a solo acoustic version of the track on YouTube, which is OK but pales in comparison to the album version.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

