Day 284 – Matt Skiba & The Sekrets

Some delightful indie-punk sounds here from Alkaline Trio frontman Matt Skiba – whose second solo album Kuts just recently dropped.

This track is She Wolf and it’s a brilliant wee tune, full of razor sharp guitar licks, 80s-esque New Romantic vocals and some nice key-change stuff towards the latter half of the song. I’m a sucker for a mid-track, post-chorus bridge at the best of times, and this has a really lovely one, so this made me very happy indeed. Plus, there’s non-ironic lyrics about vampires, which is all good with me too.

Not being an Alkaline Trio fan myself (aside from hearing the very occasional song through chance), this has been a nice find for me. I didn’t even realise Skiba’s famous musical background until I did some research, so that meant I was able to judge this on it’s own merit rather than simply reviewing it based on previous band efforts. And I’m glad of that, because this – like the rest of Kuts – is excellent.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

