Day 156 – The Soft White Sixties

Before we get started today, I’d just like to say another big thank you to everyone that reads this blog. I know I do this whenever my page view stats hit another milestone – and they’ve just passed the 3000 view mark, which is awesome – but I really do mean it. And I hope you’re still enjoying it.

For the past week or so, I’ve actually hit the first bit of mental resistance that I’ve had for this project – mostly because of a combination of illness, shitty weather and general ennui. I guess it was to be expected: after all you can’t maintain a high level of excitement for anything without having a slight crash at some point down the line. But despite the malaise, I’ve resolutely stood by my promise to post something new every day and I fully intend to keep doing so.

However, after some excursions into new podcast territory (and rediscovering some old favourites), I’m back with a vengeance and I’ve got a belter of a song to kick off Tuesday with.

This is Lemon Squeezer from San Franciscan rock & rollers The Soft White Sixties and it’s excellent stuff. Brash, shiny guitars, soulful piano lines and raspy, Rod Stewart-esque vocals from their awesomely-named frontman Octavio Genera, all wrapped up in a frenetic beat that you can’t help but stomp your feet to.

I came across this in a recent episode of The Bay Bridged podcast; a regular new music show that I’d fallen out of love with but recently rekindled my interest in. And I’m glad I did, because this is a brilliant tune.  The rest of their debut album Get Right is next on my listening list, and I’m hoping that there are other tracks on it that are comparable with this – because if there are, it promises to be an outstanding listen.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

