Day 139 – I Am Not Lefthanded

When I first started this project, I got some help from a few work colleagues who sent me some great tips for bands to feature. And although I’ve used a fair number of them so far, there’s still a lot more that I’ve been keeping in reserve.

Today’s post is one of them. I’ve been saving it as an emergency “shit, it’s 11.30pm and I haven’t written anything today” song, so it seems as good a time as any to give it a whirl.

This is Brace Brace by ex-Dublin, now California-based, 3-piece I Am Not Lefthanded – and it’s really lovely. Kind of an “Amy Macdonald-meets-Belle & Sebastian via a late night steamy sesh at HamSandwicH’s place while Everyone Else is Doing It So Why Can’t We?-era Cranberries watch on from the sidelines” sort of deal – and I’m absolutely fine with that.

There’s pianos, stirring guitars and a driving drum beat nicely complementing some insightful and introspective lyrics here, but above all it just sounds….nice. Not in a crappy “oh my mum heard that new Coldplay song on the radio and said it sounds quite nice” way, but more in a “damn, that’s some nice stuff right there. I want to wear it like a musical hug” kind of way.

I know absolutely nothing more about these guys or their music, save from a couple of other snippets I heard from the album this track came from; The Fire & The Sigh. But once I have a little more time on my hands, I’m keen to find out more because I do really, really like this tune. Big thanks to James at FreeAgent for the tip.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

