Day 87 – Milo Greene

I’m slightly bending the rules again today, but that’s predominantly because I’d actually forgotten about this tune until recently. It had been languishing away in a long-forgotten playlist and it was only a chance recollection of a certain TV show that brought it back into my head – so I thought I’d best add it before I lost track of it again.

This is What’s The Matter by Californian indie “cinematic pop” band Milo Greene. It’s a dreamy, swooning atmospheric track fusing Fleetwood Mac-esque melodies with a kind of Fleet Foxes/Mamas & Papas vocal stylising – all of which sounds like it shouldn’t work but, actually, it’s bloody gorgeous.

From the ethereal strings and 70s prog/soft rock electric guitar intro through to the fuzzy quartet of vocals from the LA band’s multi-instrumentallist members, it’s a really lovely, get-under-your-skin track that wouldn’t feel out of place for a mood-setting, late night make out session with your new squeeze.

I can’t remember why or how I came across this in the first place, but I do know that my interest was re-awakened when it featured prominently in an episode of the awesome TV show Supernatural (hey, don’t you dare roll your eyes. Supernatural is amazing. Deal with it). Anyhow, I picked What’s The Matter back out of the dusty confines of my music collection and added kept it in mind for inclusion in this new music project.

So yeah, *technically* it shouldn’t really count for this but as it’s my challenge, I get to call the shots. So here it is.

Also, listen to the rest of the 2012 self-titled debut album that the song comes from. There’s some excellent stuff there too.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

