Day 86 – Nehruviandoom

As part of my promise to explore genres that I’m unfamiliar with, I’m taking a tentative step into hip hop with today’s post – so please bear with me.

Now, it’s not that I don’t like this style. Far from it: I’m usually quite content to listen to and appreciate the lyrical artistry that goes into most tracks that pass my way. But the problem is that I’m not an aficionado, so my ability to discuss the intricacies, influences and innovation of hip hop songs is, frankly, non existent.

Therefore, this isn’t going to be a post that waxes lyrical about the style or fashioning of a particular stable of songs; it’s going to be one that simply highlights a tune that I think sounds cool. And here it is.

This is Om by Nehruviandoom – a collaborative partnership between American hip hop duo MF Doom and Bishop Nehru. Starting with some spoken word scene-setting about meditation, it swiftly kicks into a nice dirty beat with some nice ethereal backing vocals and some great dual rapping between Doom and Nehru. It’s a tight, cracking tune that I really like the sound of.

Anyhow, here’s the video. Hope you enjoy it.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

