Day 8 – Walking Papers

It’s the start of week two, so here’s an absolute belter to get us underway on this Monday afternoon.

But first a bit of background exposition. I was originally concerned that this tune might not actually be eligible for inclusion in my list, as there are actually some seriously famous people that appear in this band. I mean, when the group features Duff McKagan, former bassist from Guns n’ Roses, and a guest guitar spot from Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready, does that technically count as “new” music?

I finally reasoned that it does; not just because their supergroup band isn’t particularly well-known over on these shores, but also because, in my opinion, side projects and solo work do theoretically count as new, original music offerings. Think of it this way: if I’d been doing this 10 years ago I wouldn’t have discounted The Raconteurs’ first album just because Brendan Benson and Jack White were famous. So, therefore, this debut by Walking Papers should be equally fair game.

And that’s a very good thing, because the album itself is bloody amazing. I made reference before the challenge started to the fact that I’d heard music that had made me want to listen to the entirety of an album in one go (for the first time in many, many years) and this is one of the albums I was referring to. There’s just so much good stuff here that it’s difficult to choose just one song. Capital T, Red Envelopes and Two Tickets and a Room are all brilliant, filled as they are with grungy tones that echo the best of Audioslave, Mudhoney and Soundgarden, but for me the best track on the album is this one – The Whole World’s Watching.

It’s a killer riff that dances over some seriously dirty bass before reaching a glorious crescendo in the chorus. And frontman Jeff Angell (formerly of Seattle rockers The Missionary Position) provides the kind of stirring, throaty vocals that appear to be in short supply these days. In short, it’s glorious stuff and one of my favourite finds so far. Big shout out to my cousin-in-law Jessica for turning my attention to them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

